对比过去:早期中国与世界

地点: 1505教室,上海纽约大学
日期: 10月16日,2019
时间: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

当我们论及“早期中国”的时候,具体是在谈论那些话题呢?当人们谈到古代中国的时候,他们会想到些什么呢?答案很有可能是伟大的思想家,例如孔子和孟子,或者是著名的军事家孙子。我们也有可能会想起西安的兵马俑,或者庄周梦蝶的故事。这些“早期中国”标志性的名人事物仅仅是一小部分,更多的是鲜为人知的故事。早期中国也是活人祭祀、甲骨占卜、受命于天和乌托邦思想(例如大同思想)盛行的时期。历代学者致力于理解这个对于我们来说截然不同的时期,并将它展现于世界。如今,早期中国不仅仅是全球史的一部分,与古希腊和罗马帝国相提并论,哈佛大学的早期中国思想课程更有多达700名学生。早期中国的魅力何在?我们该如何学习研究它?本次活动邀请早期中国学领域的著名学者分享他们的学术经验,并探讨如何在全球呈现这一热门学术研究领域。

Michael Nylan (戴梅可),1983年于普林斯顿大学获得东亚学博士学位,现为加州大学伯克利分校历史系教授。戴梅可教授在美国布尔茅尔学院历史系开始教学生涯,同时也教授城市发展与结构项目,以及政治学。其在与亚里士多德专家Steven Salkever共同授课的过程中开始接触早期政治哲学。作为该校东亚学唯一女性教员,戴梅可教授在任教十余年后,于2001年加入加州大学伯克利分校历史系,与美国最杰出的中国学学者共事,并任研究生导师,学生遍布全球各地。戴梅可教授著作主要涵盖三大学术领域:早期中国学(约为公元前300年至公元后300年)、早期中国哲学,以及中国艺术与建筑。戴梅可教授受其老师(Paul Serruys, Michael Loewe, Nathan Sivin, Herbert Fingarette, and Henry Rosemont, Jr.)影响,始终对历史的合理运用和不合理运用保有兴趣。其涉及领域还包括现代史和共同利益政治学。其翻译和研究成果获奖颇多。她目前的两个项目研究分别是与陕西师范大学何如月教授合作重现汉代 《尚书》 ,以及与Suzanne Saïd教授合作的,名为 “四位历史学之父” 的项目,旨在比较古希腊历史学家希罗多德、修西得底斯、西汉史学家司马迁与东汉历史学家班固。

Michael Puett (普鸣),哈佛大学Walter C. Klein中国历史学教授,研究方向纵观历史、哲学、人类学和宗教,致力于开拓中国学研究的历史框架和比较框架。已出版著作有 The Ambivalence of Creation: Debates Concerning Innovation and Artifice in Early China (斯坦福大学出版社,2001年)、 To Become a God: Cosmology, Sacrifice, and Self-Divinization in Early China (哈佛大学亚洲中心,2002年),以及 Ritual and its Consequences: An Essay on the Limits of Sincerity (牛津大学出版社,2008年,Adam Seligman、 Robert Weller和Bennett Simon合著)。  

Trenton Wilson,加州大学伯克利分校的博士候选人,研究方向为中国早期的思想和政治历史,重点关注秦、汉和魏晋时期,博士论文题为“Empire of Luck: Trust and Suspicion in China’s Early Empires, 221 BCE-317 CE”。在就读于加州大学伯克利分校之前,Trenton在北京大学获得中国哲学硕士学位。

本次活动主持为 赵璐,上海纽约大学全球中国学助理教授。

本次活动由上海纽约大学环球亚洲研究中心和全球中国学项目合办。

分享

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

联系电话:+86(21) 20595032

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2020 All Rights Reserved

Comparing the Past: Early China and the World

Venue: Room 1505, 1555 Century Avenue, NYU Shanghai
Date: Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Time: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

When we speak of “Early China,” what exactly are we talking about? When most people think about China in the long ago past, what do they think of? The likely answer is the great philosophers, like Confucius and Mencius; the famous strategist, Sunzi. Perhaps we think of terra cotta warriors in Xi’an, or perhaps the philosopher, Zhuangzi, dreaming of being a butterfly. These famous markers of “Early China” are only pieces of a larger, less familiar story. Early China was also a time of practices like human sacrifice and oracle bone divination, of zeal for Heaven’s mandate and utopian visions such as the Great Unity. Generations of scholars have contributed to understanding this period that can seem so alien to us, and presented it to a world audience. Now Early China is not only an integrated part of the global past, often compared with Ancient Greece and the Roman empire, enrollment in Harvard’s class on Early Chinese thought has reached 700 students. What is the appeal of Early China, and how do we study it? This event invites the leading scholars of this field to talk about their own experiences in the field of Early China and how to present this vibrant scholarly field to a global audience.

Michael Nylan (Ph.D. 1983, East Asian Studies, Princeton University) is Professor in the Department of History at the University of California, Berkeley. She began her teaching career at Bryn Mawr College, in its History Department, with a joint affiliation with the Growth and Structure of Cities program and with Political Science. There she began to learn about early political philosophy by co-teaching with Steven Salkever, an Aristotle expert. After having served as a one-woman show in East Asian History for over a decade at Bryn Mawr, in 2001 she moved on to join the UC-Berkeley History Department, to conduct research with some of the country’s best scholars of Chinese history and to supervise graduate students from around the world. Now she writes in three main academic disciplines: the history of early China (roughly 300 BC-AD 300), early Chinese philosophy, and the art and archaeology of China. As her teachers (Paul Serruys, Michael Loewe, Nathan Sivin, Herbert Fingarette, and Henry Rosemont, Jr. among them) gave her an abiding interest in the use and abuse of history, she also works in the modern period, as well as in the politics of the common good, past and present. She has won prizes for her translation and research endeavors. Currently she is completing two projects, a reconstruction of the Han-era Documents classic (jointly with Professor He Ruyue), and a project tentatively entitled The Four Fathers of History (jointly with Professor Suzanne Saïd), which compares Herodotus, Thucydides, Sima Qian, and Ban Gu.

Michael Puett is the Walter C. Klein Professor of Chinese History at Harvard University. His interests are focused on the inter-relations between history, philosophy, anthropology, and religion, with the hope of bringing the study of China into larger historical and comparative frameworks. He is the author of The Ambivalence of Creation: Debates Concerning Innovation and Artifice in Early China (Stanford University Press, 2001) and To Become a God: Cosmology, Sacrifice, and Self-Divinization in Early China (Harvard University Asia Center, 2002), as well as the co-author, with Adam Seligman, Robert Weller, and Bennett Simon, of Ritual and its Consequences: An Essay on the Limits of Sincerity (Oxford University Press, 2008).  

Trenton Wilson, Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of History at the University of California, Berkeley. Trenton is interested in early Chinese intellectual and political history, especially during the Qin, Han and Wei-Jin periods. He is currently working on a dissertation entitled, “Empire of Luck: Trust and Suspicion in China’s Early Empires, 221 BCE-317 CE.” Prior to his studies at UC Berkeley, Trenton received an M.A. in Chinese philosophy at Beijing University.­­

Introduction and moderation of the Q&A by Zhao Lu, Assistant Professor of Global China Studies, NYU Shanghai.

This event is cosponsored by the Center for Global Asia and the Global China Studies Program, NYU Shanghai.

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595032

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2020 All Rights Reserved