全球现代主义与印度先锋派艺术家(1922年至1947年)

Partha Mitter

地点: 310教室,上海纽约大学
日期: 10月28日,2019
时间: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

本次讲座将讲述印度艺术家与他们遭遇全球现代主义的故事。回顾艺术史,其中心地带(西方)与边缘地带(其他地区)存在严重不平衡,致使非西方艺术家被忽视。这种现象反映了西方殖民主义的复杂语境,以及把非西方现代艺术仅作为西方现代主义附属品的趋势。讲者将探讨的三位重要艺术家——Amrita Sher-Gil、Rabindranath Tagore与Jamini Roy——展现出惊人的原创性与想象力,但是他们在西方鲜为人知。讲者认为,这并不是因为他们的艺术品质本身,而是因为他们身处于全球现代主义历史的边缘地区。本次讲座中,讲者希望矫正此类地区间的不平衡,包括中国地区。

Partha Mitter ,作家、艺术与文化历史学家,主要研究方向为西方与现代主义对印度艺术的接受、印度艺术与身份认同,以及全球现代主义。Mitter教授早年于伦敦大学学习历史,并于1970年获得博士学位,导师为著名美术史家恩斯特·贡布里希(E. H. Gombrich)。1968年至1969年为剑桥大学丘吉尔学院初级研究员,1970年至1974年为剑桥大学卡莱尔学院研究员。1974年起加入萨塞克斯大学成为印度史讲师,后任艺术史教授,并于2002年退休。

其出版专著包括 Much Maligned Monsters: History of European Reactions to Indian Art (1977年牛津克拉伦登出版社;1992年芝加哥大学出版社;2013年牛津大学出版社,新德里); Art and Nationalism in Colonial India 1850-1922: Occidental Orientations (1994年芝加哥大学出版社); Indian Art, Oxford Art History Series (2002年牛津大学出版社,牛津); The Triumph of Modernism: India’s Artists and the Avant-Garde – 1922-1947 (2007年Reaktion Books出版社,伦敦;2007年牛津大学出版社,新德里)。

本次活动主持为 Duane Corpis,上海纽约大学综合人文学科负责人、历史学副教授。

本次活动由上海纽约大学环球亚洲研究中心、综合人文学科、教务长办公室和文理学部主任办公室合办。

分享

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

联系电话:+86(21) 20595032

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2020 All Rights Reserved

Global Modernism and Indian Avant-garde Artists (1922-1947)

Partha Mitter

Venue: Room 310, 1555 Century Avenue, NYU Shanghai
Date: Monday, October 28, 2019
Time: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

The lecture takes up the story of Indian artists and their encounter with global modernism. There is a serious imbalance in art history between Centre (the West) and Periphery (the Rest) that causes non-western artists to disappear under the global radar. This is a reflection of the complex discourse of western colonialism and the tendency to consider all non-western modernist art as mere adjuncts of western modernism. The three major artists that Partha Mitter will discuss – Amrita Sher-Gil, Rabindranath Tagore and Jamini Roy – showed striking originality and radical imagination. Yet they are hardly known to the West. This, Mitter argues, is not because of their intrinsic quality as such, but because they occupy a peripheral space within the history of global modernism. In this lecture, Mitter hopes to redress this imbalance that was true of all non-western modernism including China.

Partha Mitter is a writer and historian of art and culture, specialising in the reception of Indian art in the West, as well as in modernity, art and identity in India, and more recently in global modernism. He studied history at London University and did his doctorate with E. H. Gombrich (1970). He began his career as Junior Research Fellow at Churchill College, Cambridge (1968-69) and Research Fellow at Clare Hall, Cambridge (1970-74). In 1974 he joined Sussex as a Lecturer in Indian History, retiring in 2002 as Professor in Art History.

His publications include Much Maligned Monsters: History of European Reactions to Indian Art (Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1977; Chicago University Press Paperback, 1992; Oxford University Press, New Delhi, 2013); Art and Nationalism in Colonial India 1850-1922: Occidental Orientations (Cambridge University Press, 1994); Indian Art, Oxford Art History Series (Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2002); The Triumph of Modernism: India’s Artists and the Avant-Garde – 1922-1947 (Reaktion Books, London, Oxford University Press, New Delhi, 2007).

Introduction and moderation of the Q&A by Duane Corpis, Area Head of Humanities & Associate Professor of History, NYU Shanghai.

This event is co-sponsored by the Center for Global Asia, Humanities, The Provost’s Office, and The Office of the Dean of Arts and Sciences, NYU Shanghai.

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595032

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2020 All Rights Reserved