未知之地 :中国版火人节的神圣空间、山寨空间和模拟空间

Ian Rowen

地点: 101教室,上海纽约大学
日期: 10月29日,2019
时间: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

火人节是一项文化活动和全球化的社会运动。本次讲座将从火人节的美国起源说起,再到其在中国呈现出的杂糅表达形式,探讨关于中国版火人节的诠释与文化借鉴。基于对火人节全球网络的多年行为研究——包括美国黑石城(每年八万人在美国内华达州沙漠举行为期一周的集会)、龙焰节(中国浙江省地区官方活动,有800人参与)和近期内蒙古地区一些尝试性“山寨”活动,讲者将从财务、社会、象征等方面追溯资本是如何介入中国地区火人节的舆论导向和物质流通的。

龙焰节由美国旧金山的非营利组织火人项目(Burning Man Project)授权,其他类似活动则由中国政府支持的文化产业(中国文化部支持的盈利性商业机构、中国招商局集团和中泽嘉盟投资基金)推动发展。上述活动的中国草根阶级与国际参与者为当下中美贸易战,以及中国产业的规范性、起源和影响力的主流观点提供了多样化视角与不同观点。

斯坦福学者Fred Turner声称,火人节是“硅谷的文化基础建设”,尽管在其兴起的最初几年被认为是反文化仪式。鉴于火人节所谓的文化作用,本次讲座将进一步考量中国各类产业的文化经济。中国,尽管其艺术和科技产业日益壮大,但并没有具有类似功能和象征意义的本土文化活动,这为相关产业的不同竞争对手发展中国市场提供了契机。这不仅显示了日趋紧张的中美产业和文化经济互动局势,也展现了当代中国社会的多样性、内在张力和创造性。

Ian Rowen , 新加坡南洋理工大学社会科学院、社会、地理与城市规划学助理教授 ,并由该校艺术、设计与媒体学院和拉惹勒南国际研究院联合聘用。其先后在 《亚洲研究期刊》(The Journal of Asian Studies)Annals of the American Association of GeographersAnnals of Tourism ResearchAsian AnthropologyBBC中文网和 英国《卫报》(The Guardian)等发表文章,内容涉及文化、政治和场所营造。在学术之余,作为 火人项目国际总区域代表,Ian曾设计交互 艺术 作品、组织各类活动、参与社区联络,现仍为项目发起人、负责人和员工提供咨询服务。

本次活动主持为 Christina Jenq,上海纽约大学经济学实践助理教授。

本次活动由上海纽约大学环球亚洲研究中心和全球中国学项目合办。

To schedule a meeting with the speaker, please email CGA (shanghai.cga@nyu.edu).
Time available (First come first serve):
Oct 29 2pm-4pm
Oct 30 10am-12pm (noon)

分享

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

联系电话:+86(21) 20595032

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2020 All Rights Reserved

Here Be Dragons: Surveying the Sacred, Shanzhai, and Simulated Spaces of Chinese Burning Man

Ian Rowen

Venue: Room 101, 1555 Century Avenue, NYU Shanghai
Date: Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Time: 17:30 - 19:00 CST

This talk examines the interpretation and appropriation of Burning Man, a transformational event culture and globalizing social movement, from its American origins to its hybridizing expressions in China. Based on years of action research within Burning Man’s global network—including in Black Rock City (Burning Man’s annual week-long urban agglomeration in the Nevada desert, with 80,000 participants) and Dragon Burn (China’s official regional event in Zhejiang Province, with 800 participants), as well as accounts of several ambitious recent ‘shanzhai’ (copycat) efforts in Inner Mongolia, the talk will trace the role of capital—financial, social, symbolic, and otherwise—in mediating Burning Man’s discursive and material circulations in China.

This account of Burning Man’s Chinese articulation by grassroots Chinese and international participants, authorized by the San Francisco-based non-profit organization Burning Man Project, as well as attempts at appropriation by China’s state-backed culture industry, including for-profit businesses supported by the Ministry of Culture, China Merchants Group, and China Capital Group, provides a colorful counterpoint to popular narratives of the US-China trade war and debates about the propriety, provenance, and influence of Chinese industry.

The talk will further consider the cultural economy of China’s industrial sectors in light of Burning Man’s purported function, per Stanford scholar Fred Turner, as ‘cultural infrastructure for Silicon Valley’, following its initial years as an outsider counter-cultural ritual. China, despite its increasingly powerful art and technology industries, has no autochthonous event culture with similar functional role or iconic status, allowing a strategic opening for a variety of actors with contending agendas. This demonstrates not only the increasingly uneasy imbrication of Chinese and American industry and cultural economy, but the diversity, tension, and creativity of contemporary Chinese society.

Ian Rowen is Assistant Professor of Sociology, Geography and Urban Planning in the School of Social Sciences at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, where he holds cross-appointments in the School of Art, Design, and Media, and the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies. His work on culture, politics, and place-making has appeared in The Journal of Asian StudiesAnnals of the American Association of GeographersAnnals of Tourism ResearchAsian Anthropologythe BBC Chinese, and The Guardian, among other outlets. Complementing his academic endeavors, Ian currently serves as International Meta-Regional Representative for the Burning Man Project. In these capacities, he has designed interactive art pieces, founded events, connected communities, and continues to serve in an advisory role to Project founders, directors and staff.

Introduction and moderation of the Q&A by Christina Jenq, Assistant Professor of Practice in Economics, NYU Shanghai.

This event is cosponsored by the Center for Global Asia and the Global China Studies Program, NYU Shanghai.

To schedule a meeting with the speaker, please email CGA (shanghai.cga@nyu.edu).
Time available (First come first serve):
Oct 29 2pm-4pm
Oct 30 10am-12pm (noon)

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595032

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2020 All Rights Reserved