蒙古帝国的宗教宽容与宗教间往来

讲者: Jonathan Brack
地点: Zoom线上讲座
日期 & 时间:
2020-11-12 | 19:00-20:30 (Shanghai)
2020-11-12 | 6:00-7:30 (New York)
2020-11-12 | 15:00-16:30 (Abu Dhabi)

蒙古人对被自己征服的民族的宗教信仰抱持何种态度,相关研究对此呈现了矛盾的观点。一方面,学者们认为,作为草原民族,蒙古人在对待臣民的宗教习俗和信仰时,要么采取实用主义,要么漠不关心,从而解释了他们所给予臣民的宗教自由,乃至对宗教神职人员税收的减免。另一方面在此问题上,蒙古人被描述为充满好奇、甚至是高姿态的观察者,在朝廷上推动、主持并直接参与了包括基督教、穆斯林、佛教和道教在内的各宗教信众间的激烈辩论。     

本演讲分为两部分。在第一部分,我们将采取一种新的方式来探究蒙古人对待宗教的多元化态度问题。要解释蒙古人的宗教政策,我们必须把它们看作是对蒙古国本国内 "经验主义化的宗教虔诚 "模式的补充。在第二部分,我们将焦点转向朝廷主持下的宗教间互动,其一主要例子:伊朗可汗尼德朝庭中,佛教徒和穆斯林的对峙。通过这个例子,我们探索在蒙古朝庭这一宗教竞争和活跃的竞技场,双方的宗教代表为了争取可汗的支持甚至皈依而发生冲突。我们将进一步追问,这些冲突如何塑造了 “本土 ”宗教对话者对新的宗教竞争对手的认知和看法。  

Jonathan (Yoni) Brack 为以色列班固利恩大学中东研究系助理教授。Brack 2016年博士毕业于密歇根大学,曾任耶路撒冷希伯来大学马丁-布伯研究员协会博士后研究员(2017-2020), 主要研究中世纪及早期现代伊朗和蒙古帝国。他的研究考察了伊利汗国时期的伊朗穆斯林与佛教徒的交流和论战、神圣王权、以及蒙古对伊斯兰教的皈依。Brack最新和即将出版的论文著作包括 “中世纪安纳托利亚的蒙古救世主:后蒙古伊斯兰世界的改革、叛乱和神权”(《美国东方学会杂志》2019),以及 "失落天堂:蒙古帝国的跨宗教辩论、神圣王权及伊斯兰化,1260-1335"(《过去与现在》,2021年将刊登)。Brack最近与Michal Biran和Francesca Fiaschetti共同编辑的论文集名为 《蒙古丝路: 商人,将军,知识分子》 (加州大学出版社,2020)。

Introduction by Tansen Sen,环球亚洲研究中心主任、纽约大学全球特聘教授、上海纽约大学历史教授。

分享

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

#Center for Global Asia

微信公众号

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595043

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2021 All Rights Reserved

Religious Tolerance and Inter-Religious Encounters in the Mongol Empire

Speaker: Jonathan Brack
Venue: Hosted via Zoom
Date & Time:
2020-11-12 | 19:00-20:30 (Shanghai)
2020-11-12 | 6:00-7:30 (New York)
2020-11-12 | 15:00-16:30 (Abu Dhabi)

Research on the Mongols’ attitudes toward the religions of the conquered people presents conflicting views. On the one hand, scholars argue that as Steppe people, the Mongols were either pragmatists or indifferent when it came to the religious practices and beliefs of their subjects, thus explaining the religious freedom they granted them and even their exemption of their subjects’ religious clergy from taxation. On the other hand, the Mongols are presented as inquisitive and curious, even high-minded, observers of the beliefs of their subjects, promoting, hosting and directly engaging in heated inter-religious debates at their courts that entailed Christians, Muslims, Buddhists and Daoists.     

This presentation is divided into two parts. In the first part, we will offer a new approach to the question of the Mongols’ pluralistic attitude. We will argue that to explain the Mongols’ religious policies, we must view them as complementary to the Mongols’ own domestic mode of “empirical religiosity.” In the second part, we will turn our attention to one chief example of court-sponsored inter-religious interactions: the encounters between Buddhists and Muslims at the Ilkhanid court in Iran. We will use this example to explore the religiously competitive and dynamic arena of the court, where religious interlocutors clashed over attempts to gain the allegiance, or even conversion, of the khans. We will further ask how these encounters shaped the knowledge and perspectives of “local” religious interlocutors on their new religious competition.  

Jonathan (Yoni) Brack is Assistant Professor in the Department of Middle East Studies at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel. He received his PhD in 2016 from the University of Michigan, and was a postdoctoral fellow in The Martin Buber Society of Fellows at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem (2017-2020). He studies medieval and early modern Iran and the Mongol Empire. His research examines Muslim-Buddhist exchanges and polemics in Ilkhanid Iran, sacral kingship, and Mongol conversion to Islam. His recent and forthcoming publications include “A Mongol Mahdi in Medieval Anatolia: Reform, Rebellion, and Divine Right in the Post-Mongol Islamic World” (Journal of the American Oriental Society, 2019), and “Disenchanting Heaven: Interfaith Debate, Sacral Kingship, and Conversion to Islam in the Mongol Empire, 1260-1335 (Past & Present, forthcoming 2021). He recently co-edited, together with Michal Biran and Francesca Fiaschetti, a volume title Along the Mongol Silk Roads: Merchants, Generals, Intellectuals (University of California Press, 2020).

Introduction by Tansen Sen, Director of the Center for Global Asia, Professor of History, NYU Shanghai; Global Network Professor, NYU.

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595032

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2020 All Rights Reserved