亚洲早期佛教礼仪建筑中的炼丹式变化

讲者: 梅晨曦
地点: Zoom线上讲座
日期 & 时间:
2022-3-4 | 21:00-22:30 (Shanghai)
2022-3-4 | 8:00-9:30 (New York)
2022-3-4 | 17:00-18:30 (Abu Dhabi)
2022-3-4 | 7:00-8:30 (Nashville)

尽管庙、塔、寺都存在于中国早期佛教建筑中,最早的佛陀礼仪空间实为“华盖”。华盖与曾广泛流行于亚洲佛教地区的“穹隆顶”都以花朵形状为图像的核心。一般认为这种花朵形状来源于佛教文化圈的西部。然而汉地语境中,华盖的产生却早于其他受佛教影响的因素。但是,华盖若非佛教影响之产物,那么为何中华文明的世界观会吸收这一天象几何图形呢?

本研究将对亚洲地区公元前后带有伞状结构的图像元素进行探讨,阐明华盖的意义不仅在于装饰,更在于提供合宜的空间环境,以完成自然物质通过炼丹术的转换——就是从矿石到人体的转换。本研究对宗派意识形态展开实证观察,认为丝绸与香料自西亚向中国之流传过程推进了不同文化宇宙观的传播和融合,最终带来风格不同而功能相似的宗教建筑。

梅晨曦,范德堡大学艺术史与建筑史及亚洲研究副教授,研究专注中古中国礼仪建筑与神圣图景。梅晨曦教授于宾夕法尼亚大学亚洲与中东学系(中国方向)获得跨学科硕士学位(1996年)和博士学位(2000年)。除专著《权力之神圣本质:圣地晋祠的礼仪建筑》(哈佛大学亚洲中心,2007年),她还有多篇论文发表于艺术史及跨学科杂志,包括 The Art Bulletin, Archives of Asian Art, Tang Studies, 和Artibus Asiae。如今她正在写作新书稿,关注中古中国礼仪建筑中的再生式设计策略。此外,她还与全球各地学者(包括上海纽约大学)合作组织了ATTCAT (中国古代建筑术语注释与翻译)项目,通过ArchitecturaSinica.org网站发布。这是第一个关于中国古代建筑术语的开放检索数据库。她在范德堡大学开设有亚洲艺术史和建筑史相关的多门课程。

Introduction by Lala Zuo, Associate Professor of Art History at NYU Shanghai.

分享

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
电子邮箱

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

#Center for Global Asia

微信公众号

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595043

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2022 All Rights Reserved

The Alchemy of Ritual Architecture in Early Buddhist Asia

Speaker: Tracy Miller
Venue: Hosted via Zoom
Date & Time:
2022-3-4 | 21:00-22:30 (Shanghai)
2022-3-4 | 8:00-9:30 (New York)
2022-3-4 | 17:00-18:30 (Abu Dhabi)
2022-3-4 | 7:00-8:30 (Nashville)

Although miao 廟, ta 塔, and si 寺 were all used to describe early Buddhist architecture in China, one of the first ritual spaces for the Buddha was a huagai 華蓋, literally a “foliate canopy” or “flourishing cover.” Similar to the central element in “Domes of Heaven” across Buddhist Asia, the floral shape of which is believed to derive from Western divisions of the circle, the huagai in the Chinese context predates other evidence of specifically Buddhist influence. But if the “foliate canopy” was not the result of the adoption of a new spiritual tradition, why incorporate this alternative celestial geometry into the Sinitic world view?

By examining the iconographic elements of crowning structures across Asia during the early centuries BCE-CE, this paper will show how ornamental canopies were expected to provide more than decorative shelter. Rather, they were conceived as necessary to create an appropriate atmosphere for the alchemical transformation of natural substances—from mined ore to the human body. Focusing on empirical observation over sectarian ideology, I argue that technologies of containment transmitted along the silk and incense routes from West Asia to China fueled the acceptance of alternative cosmologies and resulted in stylistically different, but functionally similar, ritual architectures.

Tracy Miller is Associate Professor of History of Art and Architecture and Asian Studies at Vanderbilt University. Her research specialization is medieval Chinese ritual architecture and sacred landscapes. She holds an interdisciplinary MA (1996) and PhD (2000) from the University of Pennsylvania in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (emphasis: China). She has published The Divine Nature of Power: Chinese Ritual Architecture at the Sacred Site of Jinci (Harvard Asia Center, 2007), and articles in major art history and interdisciplinary journals including The Art Bulletin, Archives of Asian Art, Tang Studies, and Artibus Asiae. She is currently completing a book manuscript on the use of generative design strategies in the creation of ritual architecture in Medieval China. Additionally, working with colleagues globally (including at NYU Shanghai), she helped launch the ATTCAT (Annotation and Translation of Traditional Chinese Architecture Terminology) Project, published through ArchitecturaSinica.org, the first publicly accessible research database of traditional Chinese architecture and architecture terminology. At Vanderbilt she teaches courses on the history of art and architecture across Asia.

Introduction by Lala Zuo, Associate Professor of Art History at NYU Shanghai.

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

#Center for Global Asia

WeChat

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595043

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2022 All Rights Reserved