《亚洲之光》 :埃德温·阿诺德爵士与佛陀传
Jairam Ramesh与Tansen Sen的对谈

讲者: Jairam Ramesh & Tansen Sen
地点: Zoom线上讲座
日期 & 时间:
2021-9-15 | 19:00-20:30 (Shanghai)
2021-9-15 | 16:30-18:00 (New Delhi)
2021-9-15 | 7:00-8:30 (New York)
2021-9-15 | 15:00-16:30 (Abu Dhabi)

《亚洲之光》 是埃德温·阿诺德爵士所著的一首著名史诗,于 1879 年首次出版,记叙了佛陀的生平和话语。一经出版, 此书即引起巨大轰动,历经一个半世纪,至今仍在世界范围内持续引起强烈共鸣。这部史诗不仅令传奇的印度高僧辩喜着迷,也深深打动了大约同时期、来自锡兰佛国的一位年轻人,即日后成为史上有名的护法大士达摩波罗。在1889年的伦敦,这本书也曾吸引了一位胸怀大志的印度律师的注意。之后,他成为了不朽的圣雄甘地。就在数年后,它亦影响了阿拉哈巴德的一名少年——尼赫鲁——他于1947年成为印度开国总理。此书的两册也在印度宪法的首席缔造者B.R 安培多伽尔的书架上大放异彩。

通过将文学、文化、政治和社会历史交织在一起,贾伊拉姆·拉梅什揭秘、讲述了《亚洲之光》的迷人故事 -- 这首影响深远且引人入胜的诗塑造了我们对古代圣人及其教义的思考。

贾伊拉姆·拉梅什在其独特的叙述中带入了埃德温·阿诺德爵士这位多才多艺的诗人的生活,尤其是梵语文学对诗人本人的深厚影响。阿诺德爵士所译的英文本《薄伽梵歌》是甘地的多年挚爱。此外,他的作品也在各个角度塑造了今日我们对菩提伽耶的认识。

Jairam Ramesh(贾伊拉姆·拉梅什), 印度国会联邦院议员,2006至2014年间历任印度环境与林业国务部长及其他重要职位。拉梅什先生著有包括 《Indira Gandhi: A Life in Nature and Intertwined Lives: P.N. Haksar and Indira Gandhi.》在内的一系列知名著作。他的最新著作 《A Chequered Brilliance: The Many Lives of V.K. Krishna Menon》 获得了2020年度Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF 图书奖。

Tansen Sen,环球亚洲研究中心主任、纽约大学全球特聘教授、上海纽约大学历史教授。

分享

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
电子邮箱

指南

致来访者:
• 须预约报名
• 须在学校入口处出示身份证
• 学校不提供停车服务
• 请从世纪大道1555号的南门入口处进入学校 
• Taxi card 
• 地铁:乘坐2/4/6/9号线,到世纪大道站下车,从6号出口出站 
• 公交:乘坐169/987路公车,到世纪大道浦电路站下车

#Center for Global Asia

微信公众号

联系我们

邮箱:shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595043

微信公众号:NYUShanghaiCGA

联系地址:上海市浦东新区

世纪大道1555号

© 2022 All Rights Reserved

The Light of Asia : Sir Edwin Arnold and his Biography of the Buddha
A dialogue between Jairam Ramesh and Tansen Sen

Speaker: Jairam Ramesh & Tansen Sen
Venue: Hosted via Zoom
Date & Time:
2021-9-15 | 19:00-20:30 (Shanghai)
2021-9-15 | 16:30-18:00 (New Delhi)
2021-9-15 | 7:00-8:30 (New York)
2021-9-15 | 15:00-16:30 (Abu Dhabi)

‘The Light of Asia‘ is an epic poem by Sir Edwin Arnold that was first published in 1879. It is a narrative of the life and message of the Buddha. It quickly became a huge sensation and has continued to resonate powerfully across the world over the last century and a half. The poem captivated an Indian monk who remains an iconic personality-Swami Vivekananda. At about the same time, it deeply moved a young man in Colombo who has become famous in history as Anagarika Dharmapala. It caught the attention of an aspiring Indian lawyer in London in 1889. This man later became immortal as Mahatma Gandhi. A few years hence it impacted a teenager in Allahabad who would, in 1947, become the first Prime Minister of India-Jawaharlal Nehru. Two copies of the book adorned the bookshelves of B.R. Ambedkar, the prime architect of the Indian constitution.

Weaving together literary, cultural, political and social history, Jairam Ramesh uncovers and narrates the fascinating story of this deeply consequential and compelling poem that has shaped our thinking of an ancient sage and his teachings.

Jairam Ramesh brings into this unusual narrative the life of the multi-faceted poet himself who, among other things, was steeped in Sanskrit literature. Sir Edwin Arnold’s English rendering of the Bhagavad Gita was one of Mahatma Gandhi’s abiding favourites. Sir Edwin was also in many ways the man who shaped Bodh Gaya as we know it today.

Jairam Ramesh, a Rajya Sabha MP, was Union minister between 2006 and 2014, holding several key portfolios including environment and forests. He is the author of several well-known books including Indira Gandhi: A Life in Nature and Intertwined Lives: P.N. Haksar and Indira Gandhi. His last book, A Chequered Brilliance: The Many Lives of V.K. Krishna Menon won the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize 2020.

Tansen Sen, Director of the Center for Global Asia, Professor of History, NYU Shanghai; Global Network Professor, NYU.

Share

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

Location & Details

To our visitors:
• RSVP may be required for this event. Please check event details
• Visitors will need to present a photo ID at the entrance
• There is no public parking on campus
• Entrance only through the South Lobby (1555 Century Avenue) 
• Taxi card 
• Metro: Century Avenue Station, Metro Lines 2/4/6/9 Exit 6 in location B 
• Bus: Century Avenue at Pudian Road, Bus Lines 169/987

CONTACT US

Email: shanghai.cga@nyu.edu

Phone Number: +86 (21) 20595043

WeChat: NYUShanghaiCGA

Address: 1555 Century Avenue,

Pudong New District, Shanghai, China

© 2021 All Rights Reserved